In Dad’s day….

Fire Truck LR1980…. I was attending photo school and needed a shot for an assignment. The school was downtown and my Dad’s job was too, Fire Station #1.  I cruised over after class to the station, my Dad was working that day. He checked with the Captain about the photography, since it was just for class there wasn’t any problems. I shot different parts of the building, different angles, different everything. Being a student I had no clue what I was doing, after processing the film and looking through it I settled on this image… a “classic” look, the truck waiting, ready and able… the boots positioned waiting for the men who would wear them into the danger zone.

Until the 9/11 tragedies, most of America rarely paid attention to the Fire department, unless your house was on fire that is. Media coverage of the disaster put the Firemen on the front line, America became a little more appreciative. It’s a dangerous job, growing up in the home of a career Fireman I was well aware of what my Dad faced when he left for work. Those who choose this for a career put their lives on the line for low pay or recognition for what they do. Ball players and movie actors get paid millions to play games or pretend while cities and other governments cut corners with pay and equipment.

Maybe we should call a ball player when our homes catch on fire…..

Published by

oldfilmless

I began my photography career in high school, 39 years later it's still what defines me more than anything else. I've had other jobs and many hobbies but just never was able to stay away from behind the lens.

Leave a Reply

