Morning at the fishing hole

MFHOne summer many years ago, my young son decided he wanted to build a boat. He did build one, I only helped a bit with tools too dangerous for his young age but otherwise he was the sole builder.

The boat doesn’t float very well… he did hold him above water but leaked profusely and was very heavy so it didn’t move without a lot of effort. Regardless, he was happy as could be for a few days then he moved onto another project. For my son the act of building something is the joy, once it has been finished it does not hold his interest and he will seek out yet another puzzle to solve.

Long forgotten by the builder, the little boat still sits near the water as a reminder of a fun filled summer that still fondly occupies my memories.

Published by

oldfilmless

I began my photography career in high school, 39 years later it's still what defines me more than anything else. I've had other jobs and many hobbies but just never was able to stay away from behind the lens.

Leave a Reply

