Patience

Patience

I warned you these images would be random and wouldn’t follow a theme. I saw today that the actress Donna Douglas passed away on New Years day at the age of 81. Of course to anyone from my generation that was “Elly May Clampett” that passed away. That would be Elly May from the Beverly Hillbillies if you still haven’t caught on. In honor of Ms Douglas I have posted one of my photos that contains an animal.

I grew up watching that and many other shows of the time, Elly May of course had the attention of all the boys and many moons later when I married my wife I jokingly called her “Elly May” due to her love of animals. I can’t count how many different “critters” we have had in and around my house for the last 31 years. In the image above, the curious cat peering at you is “Grrrrrr” named for a particular sound she made as a kitten.

This was a fun shoot, it only required a box, one light, a camera, a pinch of catnip and a cat. I cut the hole in the side of a cardboard box to emulate the traditional Hollywood style “mouse hole”. I placed a single light above the box shining down on the hole and turned everything else off in the room. I then got down and put my camera and upper body into the box from the opposite side. I place the catnip into the box with me. Next my wife brought in a cat, sat it down in front of the hole and moved back. The natural curiosity of the cat did the rest and I only had to focus and click the shutter.

Published by

oldfilmless

I began my photography career in high school, 39 years later it's still what defines me more than anything else. I've had other jobs and many hobbies but just never was able to stay away from behind the lens.

Leave a Reply

