My backyard

Back yard lr

So… on the site my ID is “the htrn” which is short for “the high tech red neck”. Don’t get offended by the redneck comment,I’m really a nice guy. I was given that title years and years ago because of what I did for a living, the title was a tongue-in-the-cheek nickname for me.

The photo above is my current back yard as seen from a boat. I live in the woods on a lake. My house is back in the trees, hard to see from the water, it’s a rural area.  Yet while living out in the countryside, fishing and boating right from the backyard I have been involved with the technical side of photography for 25+ years.

Back in 1991 I was hired by a California company named MegaVision to do tech support for the emerging digital photography field. The company I worked for had just purchased two hi tech digital camera systems from them at a price tag of $250,000 each. I was the studio manager and was given the task of “making those things work” by the company owner. MegaVision’s President flew out to train me on the systems, then I trained my staff. Later when other people bought the same systems out here on the east coast, I was tagged to help train them. Within a few short years I was hired by MegaVision to do all the installations, training and support on the equipment if it was being shipped east side of the country.

I no longer work for that company but still live out in the woods while doing photography with “high tech” equipment.

BTW — this photo was taken after the sun set back in the summer a few years ago, the street light in the tree and the fading light from the darkening sky provide the only illumination for the image.

Published by

oldfilmless

I began my photography career in high school, 39 years later it's still what defines me more than anything else. I've had other jobs and many hobbies but just never was able to stay away from behind the lens.

Leave a Reply

